X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help! Need to Pass State Inspection - Can't Resolve Engine Light Issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2016, 03:01 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Unhappy Help! Need to Pass State Inspection - Can't Resolve Engine Light Issue

I am new to the brand. After putting this car to the test, I have true respect for the brand. Please bare with me on the details, I really would appreciate your effective guidance:

I purchased this neglected car in June '16, with Seller's warnings to only drive it locally. Wrong! Upon purchase, exterior oxidation was visible with smoky smell emitting only from 1 of 2 mufflers upon start. When driving, the engine randomly stutters/misfires during 2nd/3rd gear shifting during acceleration. The engine light was on, until my mechanic changed coil pack #2 during tuneup, Castrol GTX high mileage oil change. The car began to purr, engine light went off. Car always started, despite mechanic's shock. Checks of existing alternator, battery were good. Bad fuses were replaced in the visible box. (I now know there are two fuse boxes).

After 5,200 miles of driving as of Sept. '16, the car engine light returned. GuaranteedPass cleaner opened 2nd muffler, didn't clear engine light. I failed the mandatory state inspection due to some items being "not ready," due to a reset too close to inspection & the OBDII scanner keeps giving different readings --variations of P1000, P0333, P0171, P0172, or none at all! Purchase of a knock sensor, was advised by 1, then not recommended by another mechanic because the knock sensor reading indicated high voltage as opposed to low. Electronic, electrical, or computer issue is highly suspected, because now the left indicator light blinks on the internal display quickly when the car is in drive with the brake pedal compressed & does not display rapid blinking externally.