Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Considering buying X-type 2003 or XJ8

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2017, 11:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Considering buying X-type 2003 or XJ8

Hello,

I am considering buying a Jaguar. However, I have just moved to US from Russia with my wife. And do not really know anybody who could give me an advice concerning purchasing a car. And i am not a mechanic at all. I have no idea about cars. I was driving Renault Logan for few years in Russia, and thats all. My wife is a good driver, but like me dont know anything about cars. That’s why I would be really grateful, if somebody could help me with my decision. I am planning to use the car while living in the Santa Clarita area of Los Angeles. I will mostly use it to move top the city and take little trips outside it from time to time. My budget is around 7000$. Firstly I was considering Volvo S60, Toyota Camry/corolla, but when we were searching ebay/carfax listings - my wife said she really likes Jaguars, and was always dreaming to have one. When I was searching I encountered several options:

2003 Jaguar X-Type Base Sedan 4-Door | eBay
(only 48k miles)

2006 Jaguar XJ8 L Sedan 4-Door
(much more mileage, but higher class)

We are now moving from NYC to LA, so I was searching in both areas.

So, my main question - is it good idea to buy Jaguar when you have only 7000$? Is it a guarantee of few years of peaceful driving, if mileage is only 48k?
What can you tell from the offers I found? Are they looking good? Can you trust the mileage suggested? What if one of the cars only has few service history records throughout 14 years? Would you recommend any other tips on choosing a good healthy car?

Thank you so much for your help and time!

Old 08-18-2017, 02:27 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts