Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

flat spots, the odd stall, uneven running at start up

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2015, 10:08 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default flat spots, the odd stall, uneven running at start up

Hello all,
I wondered if you could help at all before i have to surrender and give it to the garage....

2.2diesel estate 2007, 80k miles.

Ive had a little problem with getting flat spots at low revs for some time now when i floor the pedal fast, (not so often if i depress it gently). After getting a few tips from here, (I'm no mechanic, but willing to 'have a go') Ive recently changed the fuel filter (bosch), cleaned and refitted the MAF sensor and cleaned and refitted the EGR valve following the helpful instructions on the forum. (EGR valve was new in 2011, 63k miles).

No fault lights are showing on the dash and just received a D900 scanner this morning and tried it and its showing NO DTC's.

When i first start the engine it runs a little erratically between 720 - 1200 ish revs, varies up and down and sometimes stalls the odd time. Whitish smoke cloud sometimes visible. When driving its as i mentioned earlier, flat spots through the gears, mainly when i put my foot down fast and often more prevalent when its around 30mph. Im also getting the odd time when it wont allow me to rev over about 2500revs (Is this the 'limp mode' i ve seen referred to?)

Anyways, I wondered if there was anything else you could suggest i should / could try before surrendering??

Best regards,

Dave

Old 09-19-2015, 10:47 AM

Couple of developments..........

The engine light came on while driving earlier this afternoon so tried the diagnostic scan again and the DTC's said:

P0401 exhaust gas recirculation flow insufficient detected

P0405 exhaust gas recirculation sensor 'A' circuit low

Are these both referring to a faulty EGR valve or could it be something else?