X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Push button start

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2012, 09:42 AM
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Smile Push button start

Did any of the X types go to push button start in later model? I think this is a cool option. I have 2 UK cars that had push button starts, an MGA and a Austin Healy 3000 MK II, of course this was over 40 years ago.

There is a company I found online that offers push button start kits for modern cars. They offer 6 or 7 kits, according to what type of electronic on the car, IE PW, PD Alarms, remote entry, remote trunk, electric windows with and without one touch feature. You still need your key to turn the ignition but starting and stopping the engine is via push button mounted on the dash. I emailed them yesterday and describes my car and all the equipment on it. Waiting for an answer. The prices start at $149 to $406 a kit according to how the car is equipped. Trouble is I am not good at auto electrics, tried to fix a short once on another car I had and made a mess. Had to go to dealer to fix. Aside from Jaguar, the other problem is there are no good car electric shops in this area, and I'm not sure Jaguar would do this kind of modification. Anyone try this mod?

Old 01-11-2012, 01:27 PM
pab
Veteran Member
Received 242 Likes on 209 Posts

Trust me, you really don't want to start cutting into the electrical system of a car as complicated as an X-Type, really, you don't...
================================================
Jaguar: Grace, Pace, and Space - Sir William Lyons

Old 01-12-2012, 02:38 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Or do you...

Old 01-12-2012, 03:43 PM
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Smile Pushbutton Start