X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

are they really that terrible?

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2009, 09:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default are they really that terrible?

I've wanted a x-type for over 4 years and i decided im finally going to bite the bullet later this summer and get one. I know they have generally crappy transfer cases and the transmissions are probably worse then par when it comes to reliability, but all the articles i read completely bash the x type. It's on quite a few "worst cars of all time" lists. I would be buying a 02 or 03, so i'm planning on being as careful as possible to make sure i dont get a dud. what i want to know is, is it fairly probable that if i do some decent screening and it has a clean carfax/all the neccessary maintence done, it could be a fairly reliable ride for a few years. I'm a college student, and i live within walking distance to campus, so it'll mainly be used for leisurely purposes and running errands.

Old 05-18-2009, 11:19 PM
Veteran Member
Received 18 Likes on 12 Posts