X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Transmission Rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2011, 12:49 PM
Received 11 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Transmission Rebuild

The automatic transmission on my 2002 X-type is slipping, so I guess it will need to either be re-built or replaced. I was considering either having the trans re-built by a transmission shop, or replacing it myself with a re-manufactured unit. Then I saw an ad on eBay for a re-build kit for the JF506E transmission for under $400. Has anyone on the forum re-built their own transmission? I am a fairly competent Saturday mechanic: I have re-built one engine, replaced clutches and brakes, swapped another engine. I have never re-built a transmission though. Is it a reasonable thing to attempt? Are there any tricks to removal or installation? What about the re-build itself?

Thanks,
...John

Old 02-21-2011, 06:04 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

from what i have read on here our cars have very complex trannys and its best to leave to someone with way more experience.
i have also read that you will need some special tools for the job.

Old 02-22-2011, 11:15 AM