XE ( X760 ) 2015 -

Coolant upgrade kit failure 2017 XE 3.0L

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2024, 07:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Coolant upgrade kit failure 2017 XE 3.0L

Hello everyone, this is my first post here. Recently, I purchased the JAGUAR LAND ROVER COOLING SYSTEM UPGRADE KIT V3 for my 3.0L V6 supercharged engine. Being a mechanic by trade, I decided to tackle the installation myself.

My wife and I have owned the car for about a year, and due to the factory installed plastic parts, I've been vigilant about checking for coolant leaks. Upon smelling a strong coolant smell one day, I investigated and discovered a leaking rear heater pipe. While I've been borrowing my brother's old truck and my wife drives our Tahoe, the Jaguar has been parked awaiting repairs. I ordered the replacement parts, opting for the aluminum upgrade kit, eager to enhance the cooling system's reliability.

The installation process was lengthy, involving draining the coolant, removing the intake, supercharger belt, supercharger lid, supercharger, front coolant crossover pipes, and finally, the leaking rear heater pipe. Despite the time-consuming nature of the job, I meticulously installed the new aluminum parts and carefully checked all connections before refilling the coolant system and starting the engine.

However, shortly after starting the engine, I noticed coolant leaking from the brand-new rear heater pipe onto the transmission, worse than the leak I had just replaced. Upon investigation, I discovered that the temperature sensor was the culprit, leaking where it plugs into the rear heater pipe due to a severely cut O-ring (see picture attached).