XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

Flying object left bad dents on my brand new XF hood :(

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2013, 09:09 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Unhappy Flying object left bad dents on my brand new XF hood :(

I was driving in Atlanta yesterday and all of a sudden a flying object came down out of the blue and hit the corner of my hood. It left multiple dents, body and paint damage on the hood. I am attaching a picture of this. My car is only 1 month old, Jaguar XF 3.0 :'(

Now I bought the Dent and Ding coverage when I got the car but when going over the details I'm not so sure they cover the paint on those so I might have to go through my insurance.

Anyone here have a strong opinion on how to fix this? Since this is a brand new car, only driven 1500 miles, I want it to be done right! So I want the hood to be painted as a whole, and if the dent/damage repair is costly consider getting a new hood. But I'm no expert myself so any advice would be really appreciated. I plan on taking it to my Gwinnett Jag dealership tomorrow morning.

Also, how easy is it to have the hood painted so it matches the rest of the body? Will it be 100% match? The color is Lunar Grey Metallic.

Thanks for all your help!
Thor.

Attached Thumbnails Flying object left bad dents on my brand new XF hood :(-photo-3-1-.jpg   Flying object left bad dents on my brand new XF hood :(-photo-1-1-.jpg  
Old 07-07-2013, 10:01 AM
DPK
Veteran Member
Received 529 Likes on 389 Posts

From out of nowhere?...Damn UFOs...

Seriously, that sucks and I am sorry for you, it would make me sick.....IMO, the whole hood will have to be redone or replaced, depending on what the adjuster says..But with today's paint and repair methods, it should come out looking like new again...Was the hood the only damage? or did the right quarter panel on top next to the hood have any hits too.

I wish you luck and a speedy repair.

Old 07-07-2013, 10:40 AM