X305 TPS setting. - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Notices
XJ XJ12 ( X305 ) 1995 - 1997

X305 TPS setting.

 
  #1  
Old 03-04-2019, 10:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Twin Waters, Sunshine Coast, QLD. Australia.
Posts: 76
Thanked 61 Times in 32 Posts
Default X305 TPS setting.

G'day Gents,

I have a problem with my car, a 1995 X305, in that as I accelerate the car shudders and hesitates.

I have a code reader but no DTCs are displayed.

I had a similar problem a few years ago and it was a dodgy TPS which I had replaced.

As the symptoms are similar to what happened previously I suspected the TPS again and have replaced it with a new one now I'm having a problem setting it up as per the Electrical Diagnostic Manual.

The procedure says to set up 2 DVMs, one to indicate the point at which the IDLE switch opens and the other to measure the mV of the rheostat before and after this IDLE open point and then adjust the TPS until you get a specific difference between the before and after readings.

The book procedure says to make these measurements at the ECM but I found it more convenient to trace the lines through and make the measurements at the TPS, is this a problem?

Being more a nuts and bolts type than an electrically skilled type I am confused. Surely if you have to move the TPS to adjust it then the IDLE open point will also move and when you check it again the readings will be the same. The IDLE switch and rheostat are all part of the TPS and can't moved separately.

Has anyone done a TPS setup on their car and if so how did you do it? Or can you explain how the book procedure works.

Cheers,
Jeff.
 
  #2  
Old 03-08-2019, 12:13 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Miami Shores
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey Jeff,

my 96 has the same problem as of recent i took it to Jaguar they have had it for 3 weeks still working on the problem, if u get an answer let m know, otherwise ill get back with you when they figure it out.

reguards , Joe
 
  #3  
Old 03-18-2019, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Jaffrey, NH
Posts: 231
Thanked 101 Times in 72 Posts
Default

I had to put a new TPS in my X305 because the plastic housing was physically worn to the point of being notchy and causing the throttle to stick!

To set the TPS on its slotted mount, I used a DC power supply to put 5V to the TPS input wire. I was then able to set the TPS position to get the right voltage out... I think it was .37? You can get a DC power supply on Amazon. They have like a little digital read out so you can set it to 5v. Point is I did this on the workbench, installed in the car and got no codes . Itís been working perfect
 
  #4  
Old 03-20-2019, 05:39 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Miami Shores
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey Jeff,
for my xj12 seems it was the wheel speed sensor left rear causing my engine problem, needed to be cleaned.

reguards , Joe
 
  #5  
Old 03-21-2019, 05:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Twin Waters, Sunshine Coast, QLD. Australia.
Posts: 76
Thanked 61 Times in 32 Posts
Default

G’day Joe,

Thanks for your suggestion but for the life of me I couldn’t figure out how cleaning that wheel speed sensor would make any difference, especially as my speedo was working normally, but it did and my car now runs fine.Thank you.

I’ll have to investigate further to understand why.

Cheers,
Jeff
 

Last edited by watto700; 03-21-2019 at 04:43 PM.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Oubadah
XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 )
18
11-24-2014 07:41 PM
randyb
XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
0
05-30-2014 03:39 PM
JimC64
XJ XJ12 ( X305 )
2
10-17-2013 06:49 AM
LADave
New Member Area - Intro a MUST
4
12-26-2010 08:06 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: X305 TPS setting.


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: