XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Best Way To Jack Front Tires

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2017, 07:34 PM
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Best Way To Jack Front Tires

A newbie here looking for help from the DIY guys (and gals).

Question:
Where on this picture is the crossmember? Is it the part labeled A or B? Can it support the weight of the car if a floor jack is put under it to raise both front tires?

Background:
I am trying to change out my front brake pads. This is my first car project, and I would not consider myself mechanically inclined. I prepared by watching lots of Youtube videos on changing out the brakes - ChrisFix is a great channel. I have all the tools i need. I managed to put the car on ramps and got the plastic belly pan off.

From the Youtube videos, it seems the easiest way to raise the front two tires of a car is putting the floor jack under the front crossmember and then using jack stands. I know where the two front jack points are. There's also some commentary on how it's an aluminum body and this makes things different regarding crossmember support.

Any help, especially if you've done this regularly on your own XJ8 :-), would be appreciated.

Attached Thumbnails Best Way To Jack Front Tires-jaguar-2004-xj8.jpg  
Old 03-20-2017, 07:55 PM
Received 316 Likes on 243 Posts

Below is where you should put the floor jack and stands if you're doing this in your driveway/garage. You should never use the subframe to lift the vehicle at any time, or damage can occur. Should be look at the solid black dots for jack points with the floor jack.

Lifting Points—Floor Jack and Axle Stands
CAUTIONS:
  • If the vehicle is to be lifted using floor jacks, two jacks must be used to raise either the front or rear of the vehicle. If one jack only is used, excessive body twist may occur.