XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

96 xj6 alternator and power loss

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2014, 02:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 xj6 alternator and power loss

Firstly, thanks for this source of valuable information. Secondly, I have very little experience with posting. Once again the xj6 (the ANTI CHRIST) is giving me problems. This time the power drops above 1500 rpms below 1500 it runs fine. My alternator needs to be replaced. Is this causing the power loss? I am not a mechanic but I am retired with plenty of time to fix the beast.

Old 02-20-2014, 03:48 PM
Veteran Member
Received 368 Likes on 302 Posts

Cap,

Can you give us a wee bit more info?

Can you rev the engine above 1500 when in Park or neutral?

Is the power loss absolutely rev limited or speed/load limited? Ie can you drive at higher rpm in say 2nd gear?

What are the symptoms of the power loss? Does the engine stall? Do you hear it misfiring and shaking?

Do you have a check engine or other light (transmission) on?

Do you have access to an OBD scanner? The data from such a device can be very helpful in diagnosing problems. If you don't have one, you should be able to use one for free at a local auto parts store.

You say that the alternator needs replacing, what led you to that conclusion. A defective alternator could show some of your symptoms but at some point the car would shut down completely. Have you tried running the car with all the electrical accessories on? If you have a bad alternator, it won't be long before the car dies.

The following users liked this post:
Capt.n Bob (02-21-2014)
Old 02-20-2014, 09:56 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,638 Likes on 1,066 Posts

Don't spend much time revving it above 1500 in Park or Neutral: I happened upon a (for me) little-known tidbit last week while reading through some TSB's....seems revving above 2K in P or N will damage the transmission!

The following users liked this post:
Capt.n Bob (02-21-2014)
Old 02-21-2014, 08:51 AM