XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Buyers' advice wanted

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2010, 02:04 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Buyers' advice wanted

Hi there,
I'm looking for a 'new' used Jaguar, and my budget would perfectly fit a X300. Now I've owned a 1989 Daimler 3.6 for about 5 years, so I'm not really a newbie to Jag's, but I don't know all that much about the changes that were made between.
For instance: XJ 40's had this hydraulic rear suspension that would cause problems sooner or later...is still an issue with the X300 series?
Also, many XJ40's (including mine) needed their differential rebuilt after 100'000 miles or so...what about the x300?
Does the interior roof lining still come off after a few years (not that big a problem, but not so easy to fix, actually...)?
I had a significant power loss because of a clogged catalytic converter, did anyone experience that problem on a X300?
Oil leaks still an issue on those Jaguars, I guess?

On the contrary, the engine and gearbox were in very good condition, even when the car had almost 200'000 miles on it...is the life expectancy still about the same?

What are the typical signs to look for on 94-96 X300 with about 100k-130k miles on it? And which model's are the most reliable (I don't care that much about speed and extra power, although I will consider buying a supercharged one if I find one.) Is the supercharged model more prone to failure and troubles than the other ones. I understand that some people like or don't like the V8 for 'philosophical reasons', but apart from that, are both engines about equally desirable in terms of reliability and life-expectancy?

Well, many questions here...thanks in advance for providing me with some advice.

Kurt

Old 02-18-2010, 08:23 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,430 Likes on 1,940 Posts

Hi Sapporillo