XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

98 XJ8L engine problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2008, 09:16 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 XJ8L engine problems

Hi all, I'm new to this board but not new to cars. I've been a professional mechanic for 7 years now but have not really worked on jaguar engines extensively. We really do not get these cars in my shop besides the normal brakes/suspension/fluid exchange. Plus, Jags are not as common around here.

Well, here's the deal. I recently purchased an XJ8L with 78kknowing that the car was not running.(auction) After bringing it home, I put a new battery in it to get things going. After trying to start the car, it sounded like there was no compression. So I researched a little about the timing chain(s) and figured out that these were interference enigines. So then I did a compression test to see where I stood. Apparently the car has been sitting a while because of the sticks/leaves/stagnant water around the intake and like areas. As I pulled the coil packs I saw that the gaskets on the valve covers were shot, so oil has leaked onto the plugs and coil boots. (no big deal, its a very common problem on a lot of cars) So some cleaning and some new plugs are required.

Onto the compression test. I started on the passenger side bank and got absolutely 0 compression on those four cylinders. I thought that was extremely odd, so I thought maybe my compression tester was taking a dump(or possibly a bad schrader valve/o-ring) So I went to the drivers side bank compression numbers were 30,90,90,30. Very very low, but atleast I got a reading, so it wasn't my guage. This was yesterday. Last night I tried finding some info and came up here. Mitchell ondemand is absolutely no help and I wish I had Alldata back, but atleast I got some TSB info on the timing chain tensioners commonly failing. I ended up finding this forum, and saw some good information.