XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

Charging system issues with my 1988 XJ40

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2013, 03:53 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Charging system issues with my 1988 XJ40

A question for someone with electrical system knowledge, on a 1988 XJ40

The battery will drain on its own (Jag gremlins I think)

Volts, key out, 12.70

Volts, initial start, 12.06

Volts, after revving engine to 1700 rpm, 14.19 (this stays after the rpm drops back to idle)

Volts, with full load, 12.45 (once load is removed voltageis back to 14.19)

I have been looking at the forum for similar problems butnot seeing any.

I have removed the alternator and had it rebuilt (as long asit was out) and changed the belts, and put in a new battery (old one had abroken positive post)

Could this possibly have something to do with the" LoadDump Module" ??

Any ideas would be very much appreciated

Old 05-16-2013, 06:01 PM
Received 248 Likes on 170 Posts

HI,

I have some knowledge, mine is an 89 base model. Sounds to me like you have a parasitic draw rather than a charging issue.

If you're confident the alternator is good, as it sounds like it from your readings, and the battery is new, I would think you have a circuit draining your battery while at rest.

If you meter has capabilities to monitor miliamps, then you will need to disconnect your negative cable and put your meter leads on the negative battery terminal and the negative cable (use mini clamps or wire ties to keep them in place). Wait till the car is completely at rest (doors closed, engine off, courtesy lamps out), then meter the amp draw. You should be in the area of .045 ma (or lower) with the car completely at rest. If you reading is above that, or above .050 (which is high), then you probably have something on one of the circuits misbehaving. Some people may actually have lower readings at rest depending on model and features.