XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1991 XJ6 Sovereign Wont start!

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2012, 09:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1991 XJ6 Sovereign Wont start!

Hey I'm having trouble starting my xj6. It will turn over but won't start. It was working fine an hour earlier after about a 30 minute drive, then I turned it off, came back and it wont start. I thought it was the battery at first so I charged it, still nothing. It'll crank like it wants to start, but nada. i checked the on board computer for any error codes and nothing came up. PLEASE HELP!!!

Old 02-27-2012, 10:08 PM
Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts

im new to the jaguar world but have done plenty of this stuff on other cars so i hope i can be of some help. to me sounds like either loss of spark or loss of injection. also, i believe the 1991 xj6 is different to the cars in this forum, but same principals (maybe not same locations for the fuel pump) apply

first take a plug wire off and stick a spare plug in. crank the engine and look for spark. if there is none its either the coil or electronic ignition module but ill explain how to test for both once you work out if you have spark.

easiest way to test if injectors are working (this sounds wired but bare with me) is to get a large screw driver and place the blade against the injector and the butt against your ear. you should hear a ticking while the engine is being cranked over (screw driver works like a doctors stethoscope). you will be able to tell if its coming from the injector and not just resonating sound by placing the screw drive against a location close to the injector (but not on the injector) on the manifold. the injector jives off a profound click.