Sponsored by:

90 XJ6 heat and ac question

Old 01-21-2009, 07:17 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 90 XJ6 heat and ac question

hello all, I just purchased a 1990 XJ6 in very nice condition,
I am an experienced automotive tech and always liked these cars,
I have a question regarding the heat and ac ,
the blower for the heat appears to be working correctly at full force etc, but thats about it, I have very little volume from any vent position and the heat does work, however not enough volume
Im guessing the panel acts as the control unit, and this is responsible for this sitiuation,
also Im assuming there are no seperate controls to direct the air to the footwells, or where I want it to go? seems its all automatic

any suggestions on where to begin t shooting the automatic locks, they dont work at all

what kind of job is it to adjust the valve shims, there a little noisey, but not enough to do it now, was thinking of doing it in the spring,
seems to have a very similar set up to ferrari , which is were my experience lies

thanks in advance

Old 01-21-2009, 09:32 AM
Received 70 Likes on 56 Posts
Default RE: 90 XJ6 heat and ac question

Greetings,

If yor hear the blower running at high speed but feel very little air flow, perhaps only one of the two blowers is working.

There is a unit beneath the dash on each side, and a fuse in each side fuse box, for the two blowers. So with the heat turned on high, remove each fuse and see how the air flow is affected.

Old 01-21-2009, 11:54 AM
Veteran Member
Received 166 Likes on 134 Posts

As a previous 90 XJ6 owner, I think JagtechOhio is right on this one. However, on the off chance both blowers are working, try pulling out the center vent and manually opening up the vent and see if you get more airflow. I had a problem with the vacuum not keeping the vent open so I put a stick in the vent to keep the flat open. This worked until the left side blower motor went belly-up, I solved the problem by getting a 96 XJ6.