XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Car will not start, need help.

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2017, 08:20 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car will not start, need help.

I am new to Jaguars and have a couple questions. Yesterday my 1984 XJ6 would not start. It turns over but will not fire. If I spray a little starting fluid in it fires up for just a bit and then dies. I am assuming it is a fuel delivery problem. My questions for you Jag pros:
1. Where is the fuel pump?
2. Should I hear the fuel pump running when I turn the key to the on position like I do in other cars?
3. How is the best way to test the pump?
4. What is this item in the picture? Is it a fuel valve that could be the problem?

Thanks for any help and yes it does have plenty of gas in the tanks

Attached Thumbnails Car will not start, need help.-s6110001.jpg  
Old 01-12-2017, 08:31 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,058 Likes on 451 Posts

Fuel pump is in the trunk under the spare, the relay for it is on the firewall next to a red one, if you look in the stickies at top of forum.page they explain how to diagnose this..

Good luck.

Oh the thing in the picture looks like fuel pressure regulator, but im on phone and pic wont get very big.

Last edited by Darrenmb; 01-12-2017 at 08:37 AM.
Old 01-12-2017, 10:01 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,749 Likes on 7,100 Posts

Originally Posted by lamont74

2. Should I hear the fuel pump running when I turn the key to the on position like I do in other cars?

No

3. How is the best way to test the pump?

Put the gearshift in "R" or "D". Turn the key all the way to 'START' . You should hear the pump run. If you're hearing isn't all that great have a helper turn the key while you open the trunk and listen from there.

4. What is this item in the picture? Is it a fuel valve that could be the problem?