XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New guy input, don't blast me too hard!

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2010, 11:01 PM
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default New guy input, don't blast me too hard!

Okay, I am brand new to Jaguars and I am on a learning curve concerning their quirks and needs, so please be gentle if I am off the mark on my inputs.
I have been on the site for a couple of days and I think it is one of the most informative forums out there for Jags. I am not new to motorized transportation.
Being a gearhead and always looking for more power, I have worked on the mundane grocery getter Excursion to the tire scorching big block V8 and just about every variation of motor out there including motorcycles.
I am currently involved in building a 4x4 with a turbo'ed Ford 300 straight 6 with a blow-thru 4 barrel carb on a Clifford Research intake and long tube header with a T25 flange welded on for the Garrett turbo. I am porting the head, then tuning the motor and fuel system once it goes back together. So, I am not clueless by any means, just new to these cars.

I do love the power this car makes for sure. I have some ideas and possibilities of things that will help from my previous experience with other vehicles.

1. Fuel System:

If your pump is out or going out, get a Wahlbro 190 or 255 HP. They are no more expensive than the stock replacement. They will provide excellent long life and leave you room for more mods down the line.
Install a fuel filter prior to the fuel pump. I have used two in most of my cars I have built, especially the turbo cars and bikes. By two I mean one larger coming off of a "T" or "Y" fitting out of the tank going to the pump as the main filter and tying in a smaller one off the "T" or "Y" fitting to ensure adequate fuel flow to the fuel pump under a load.