XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

1988 V12 won't start - Newbie here

Old 08-09-2013, 04:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1988 V12 won't start - Newbie here

Hello All,

I just purchased my first Jaguar and I'm trying to get it running. I bought it this way, so I've never heard it running before and I don't know how long it's been sitting. I've been told since November, but I'm not sure if that's true. The dusty interior makes it look like a barn find and it was last registered 5 years ago.

Here is what I've done so far:

I had the car towed to my house, and the battery was diagnosed as good and fully charged by autozone. (Note - The trunk smells like gasoline)

I have spongy brakes that hardly work, but before I put money into re-doing all that I want to get it running. I know a car needs compression, fuel and spark, but am not 100% sure how to test for all that on a Jag. Also, I have a timing light.

Spark:
Can I use the timing light to check for spark? If it flashes, does that mean my ignition is good?

Fuel:
Before I try starting the car, I was thinking of pulling a spark plug out and checking if it's dry. Then, I'll put it back in, try to start, pull it out and check if its soaked in gas. Is that a good enough test?

Compression:
I can borrow one of these gauges from autozone, but will need to know how to turn off the injectors. I think all I have to do for the fuel pump is pull a fuse. Finally, how to stop the ignition system from getting spark.

Anything else that I should look at? The car turns over but doesn't sound like it is firing or trying to fire at all.

Thanks!

Old 08-10-2013, 03:12 AM
Per
Received 70 Likes on 55 Posts