XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Facelift A-Pillar Gasket Replacement Suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2017, 06:14 PM
Vee
Veteran Member
Received 1,510 Likes on 1,176 Posts
Default Facelift A-Pillar Gasket Replacement Suggestions?

I'm ready to pull the trigger and order replacement gaskets for the A-Pillar on my 1996 convertible. When driving in the rain, what was once an occasional drop has now become a more constant drip, and I don't need it to get any worse.

Any tips or suggestions on getting the new gasket in? I've never done anything like this before and I couldn't find any info on it...which means it's either very easy, or no one has bothered to post their troubles.

It will be part HHE5301aa on the drivers sided and whatever the one on the passengers side is.

Thank you for any help and advice in advance.

Old 05-11-2017, 11:05 AM
Vee
Veteran Member

Ok, I swapped out the drivers side gasket. The effort is pretty straightforward...except for the section next to the windshield. How do I know I didn't do it correctly?

Its raining and it's soaked. It is letting water inside.

Who would I even take this to to have installed correctly?

Old 05-16-2017, 10:37 AM
Banned
Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts

Did you replace with a new or used seal?

Old 05-16-2017, 10:55 AM
Vee
Veteran Member

New. URO now makes the parts.

Very simple install, with the exception of the portion behind the windshield.

I used soap to lube up the gasket so it would easily be pushed into the channel. I used plastic tools to help push the parts in. I suppose that my hands were just small enough to be able to work the gasket in along the door hinges. You'll be working in the blind, so start on the bottom section first to get a feel for it.