XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

First time in a forum HELP!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2011, 06:14 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time in a forum HELP!!!

Hi everyone,
My name is Robert. I'm from Orange CA. I work as an accountant for a great group of people but have always been a car enthusiast. My employer and close friend asked if I could help do a few repairs and sell his 1990.5 Jaguar XJS convertible. It's really pretty, lots of fun to drive, but being a domestic fella all these years (with the exception) of a few Porsches, I'm completely lost in this thing. Looks like spaghetti under the hood to me. My problem is, all of a sudden the turn signals, brake lights and hazard quit working. The car had been sitting for about a year. Last night the back right window wasn't going up. It seems it has quite a few intermittent problems. Any help would be extreeeamly appreciated.

Thank you!!
Sincerely,

Rob (confusedbyacat)

Old 10-09-2011, 06:56 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Not going to be the technical advisor because I'm not much in front of you. When I got my 1994 in May I had a lot of the same issues. One of the big helps is finding the electrical diagrams for you car. There's a link to the captainjacks pages in the faq's that has them for just about every year.

Old 10-09-2011, 07:13 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

I'll start by saying that a great many electrical problems on these car are caused by dirty/loose/corroded connections, sockets, and ground points....so don't be tempted to overlook easy fixes.

The turn signal circuit gets voltage *from* the hazard light switch. The contacts in the hazard switch are often corroded. Try exercising the hazard switch somewhat vigorously a couple dozen times. This actually restores life to the system in many cases.

If that doesn't help then I'd begin by check for voltage *to* the hazard switch. Do you have a test light or volt meter?