XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Help! XJSC that has been sitting in storage?

Old 06-04-2015, 09:13 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Help! XJSC that has been sitting in storage?

Hey guys. I'm not really good at trying to find stuff on these forums so hopefully someone can give me some advice or point me in the right area to where I can find some answers. I have an 88 XJSC that was given to me from a family member that passed away and it's been in storage for about 5-6 years so I would like to take it out and get it to a shop to get looked at so I can start driving it this summer. I know nothing about these cars.

I need to buy a battery for it but I was also wondering what kind of coolant it takes? I remember the last time it was started years ago it had a rough idle at first until it ran for a little and then it was fine. But the coolant light or the temperature light was red on the dash. I just want to make sure I have oil and coolant in it so I can atleast get it to the shop to have it looked at.

It's a V12 engine.. do you have to use 91 or 93 gas? Or can you just use regular 87?

Does anyone have any advice for me or any input that might help? Anything is appreciated! Thanks!

Old 06-04-2015, 09:41 PM
Received 83 Likes on 42 Posts

For a great start click on the 'how to' quick links at the top of the thread section and read the XJS handbook by Kirby Palm

secondly 1/3 way down the thread screen on the right there is button marked 'search'

click on it type in 'coolant' or 'fuel' or whatever and you're away. I'm a first time XJS owner and the site is my far the best collection of wisdom expertise you can get, the collective wisdom on here exceeds anything you'll get elsewhere including a mechanics shop!

enjoy your XJSC they're very pretty.

The following 2 users liked this post by Dave1109971:
Coop613 (06-04-2015), Gunner01 (06-08-2015)
Old 06-04-2015, 10:02 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,743 Likes on 7,098 Posts

Originally Posted by Coop613