XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Just Toured Castle Bromwich

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2013, 02:20 AM
Received 66 Likes on 45 Posts
Default Just Toured Castle Bromwich

I am currently on my Europe vacation with my wife and one of our stops was to the Jaguar Factory at Castle Bromwich. If you haven't gone already I highly recommend it, they treat you like royalty and have the tour setup extremely well. One of the best plant/factory tours I have ever been on, which means alot considering I am a manufacturing engineer. Took some notes for our customer relation department.

Now to the good stuff:

1) The F-type coupe will be released in March of 2014
2) In 18 months they will have a new car to compete with the bmw 3-series. It will have available the new na v6 motor and supercharged v6 motor. It will have its own chassis which will be shared with:
3) a new suv, that doesn't use a land rover chassis. this will be a suv that is suppose to be more sporty on the road (think more bmw x6) versus the land rover's more aggressive off road design.
4) Jaguar is going to take a stance to enlarge their market share, by expanding their range to be more similar to BMW, Mercedes, Lexus, etc.
5) Tata is currently spending 550 million Pounds on upgrades to the factory
6) The F-type and XK range are built on the same production line and are made to order.
7) The facility really appears to be top notch and extremely clean.
8) The factory has the F-type v8 s which appeared in the ~15 min youtube video/advertisement/move (I will post my picture soon once I get it off my camera.)

I really look forward to the new 3 series fighter, I hope they get this one right. I am dreaming about a manual trans supercharged v6 with ~380hp, similar to a m3. My guide couldn't confirm or deny a manual trans option. However if luck would have it they would only put a true manual with the smallest motor and put some flappy paddles with the R version.

Old 07-05-2013, 09:06 AM