XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

What can I expect to spend on an XJS?

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2010, 03:18 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What can I expect to spend on an XJS?

Hello! I'm new to the Jag forum. I think I would like to own an XJS convertible as a summer car, late 80's, early 90's, 12 cylinder. What can I expect to spend on one in good daily driver condition (does not need to be show car, but very presentable)? I've owned older Mercedes in the past, and my daily driver now is an 03 BMW. I do all maintenance and repairs myself, I'm not afraid of working on them. Any advice would be appreciated.

Old 04-30-2010, 05:43 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

I guessing $6-$8k for a better than average convertible. Maybe less in this economy. There'a a '94 convertible on Ebay right now that has bid up to about $13k....but it's an extra nice car with lots of recent work.

If you can live with a coupe you'll save lots of money.

Most older Jags have been neglected. Oh sure, they've been waxed six times a year, but, still, they've been neglected. Plan on spending some time and cash to catch up on repairs. A sorted-out XJS is a joy, though.... worth the effort and money to make right.

About the only thing that'll hurt a Jag V12 is overheating so make sure the cooling system is 100%. Cosmetics are hugely expensive, usually way more than mechanical repairs (since you're a DIY guy)....so good paint, leather, wood, and convertible top are a big "plus"

When you say "any advice appreciated" I'm not sure how much detall you want. I could spend a couple hours on the subject :-)

Cheers
DD

Old 05-01-2010, 01:06 AM
Veteran Member
Received 535 Likes on 337 Posts

@Eva

Welcome to the forums.