XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

XJS - Recommendations

Old 05-09-2012, 08:19 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default XJS - Recommendations

Fellow Jag Enthusiasts,

I am in the market for an JXS Coupe. I understand they are a love-hate car, but aren't all the most exciting relationships?

From reading many of your posts, I am convinced that I should buy the best car I can find, which means don't buy the cheapest. I am not a mechanic, don't have time to learn, but I have a Jag mechanic I trust. Still, I want to start with a great car, not buy cheap and hope to fix up. I also read your advice on checking the maintenance records as they are a better indicator of the condition of the car than merely low mileage. So thank you for the head start!

My budget is from $9,500-$12,500 (or more if it is really worth it).

The models range from 1987-1991, various mileage, some very low. One only has 13,000 on it, and the highest is the 79K 1987 where the owner totally restored, high-end paint and engine. The price range is from about $10,000 to a high of $14,500.

- 1987, 79K, $9,900, "restored to Concours condition and exhibited in shows."
- 1991, 32K, $12,000
- 1988 13K, 6-Cylinder, $14,500
- Plus a few more in the 1988-1989 years with low miles.

I know this is very wide open, but what would you all buy if you had my budget, what would you look for, etc.

Also, would you buy an 2000-2001 XK8 instead? Had to ask.

Thanks so much,

Clyde-Dog

1999 XJ8 - 10 years of faithful service, but she gave up the ghost.
Looking for XJS

Old 05-09-2012, 11:38 AM
Veteran Member
Received 413 Likes on 311 Posts

For that budget, you don't need to compromise at all. I'm a fan of the 89-90.

- the best seats
- no ugly airbag steering wheel
- quad headlamps
- beautiful tail lamps (not a fan of the facelift models at all)

XK8? Never. Not a distinctive looking car; too similar to period vintage Astons & Maseratis. Nothing on the road looks like an XJS.