XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

2012 XKR-S Convertible - Inital Thoughts

Old 05-16-2013, 10:34 PM
Received 135 Likes on 108 Posts
Default 2012 XKR-S Convertible - Initial Thoughts

So today I picked up a used British Racing Green 2012 XKR-S convertible with around 6000k miles on the clock. I drove up from Houston to Dallas in a modified 525hp C5 Corvette Z06 which I parted with in trade.

For some background, I am also the former owner of a 2006 supercharged Lotus Elise and a 2006 Porsche Carrera S. I have some experience with a Panamera PDK while my Carrera was in the shop getting some paint work. Lastly, I have also logged 16, 20-min track sessions under my belt in the Lotus. I am still greatly a noob and it has been a couple of years since I have been back on the track.

Here is a link to my member intro with pics my previous sports cars:

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/n...xt-week-95244/

I am not going to write a long essay, as there are MANY reviews of this car if you do a Google search. Instead, I thought I would simply list some points that came to my mind as I drove back to Houston with a friend.

1. Fit and finish of the interior is superb. Couldnt find a flaw. Great layout. Wish the tach was larger and in the center of the gauge pod. Wish I could change the digital clock in between the tach and speedometer to a larger digital speed read out.

2. Touch screen isnt NEAR as bad or slow as some make it out to be. Another suprise since I had prepared for the worse.

3. I LOVE manuals, but this "automatic" transmission is by FAR the best I have ever experienced. I didnt like the Panamera PDK in traffic, but the Jag ZF is smooth as butter. But it is also VERY snappy when you want it to be, and changes gears quickly. I was unable to confuse it. Downshifting to each traffic light is addicting. Throttle blips are perfect. A+