Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

2014 XK Extended Warranty Questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2017, 11:52 AM
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default 2014 XK Extended Warranty Questions

Hello,

Most Extended Warranty threads on the XK forum tend to be a few years old, and they tend to deal with 2007-2010 XKs. I'm new to Jaguar, this is the first used car I've ever bought (a 2014), and I'm starting this thread in case there's any updated info anyone can contribute regarding Extended Warranties.

I purchased a 2014 XK, 51,000 miles, from a used car dealer, with no warranty (as-is), NON-CPO. Some points:
- One owner
- Title search clean/no concerns
- Clean title
- Clean Carfax (not that that means anything)
- Pre-Purchase Inspection (PPI) at local Jaguar dealer showed no damage history and no problems (a slightly out of round rim and tire damage which was replaced, needs an oil change)
- Two separate test-drives at highway speeds... smooth as can be
- I failed to obtain the engine's history from ECU, as I learned of this after the PPI

During the PPI at Jaguar, the Service Manager recommended obtaining an Extended Warranty that features:
- Pays the "shop rate," not a "fixed rate"
- A “per repair” deductible, not “per visit”
- A “wear and tear” as well as “breakdown” coverage
- Pays the dealer directly

I have three questions:
1) As a 2014 XK, (this is written Aug. 2017), is the car under any manufacturer warranty, and if so, how can I find out how much time remains and what it covers?

2) In other threads on Extended Warranties, folks have recommended these Extended Warranty providers:
- Easy Care warranty
- Endurance warranty
- AutoAssure
- Zurich
... however, some folks have said, "Insure it yourself and keep the money if you do not need repairs. Put $1000-$2000 in a dedicated reapir savings account to start and add about $50-$100 a month. Get your repairs at a qualified Jag independent and save over dealer charges."