MAF Sensors - Page 3 - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Notices
XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

MAF Sensors

Reply

 
 
 
  #41  
Old 06-20-2018, 01:21 AM
Dymaxxion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Detroit
Posts: 194
Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ranchero50 View Post
Quit wasting money on parts until you have some idea what's wrong. Until you actually know what pressure is at the rail everything is still suspect. You could have corrupted data from the sensor or PWM problems from the ECU to the driver. From experiences garnered from the forum over the past year all of this can still fall back against the battery. The X150 is a fickle beast when it comes to electronics and controls. At least you aren't paying a shop to misdiagnose it yet.

Did you read the section of the service manual on the fuel system?
I did read the Service manual section. When I reread it today it made me wonder if there would be specific FPDM codes thrown by the system if that was the fault.

I've never found a surplus of Jaguar parts to be a problem when daily driving one. I acquired a fuel pressure sensor and will be checking that in a sec. I did however delve a little deeper into the OBDII fuel trims and I found something interesting. My long term fuel trims on Bank 2 were lower than those of Bank 1. B1 hovered around 4.7 to 5.5, Bank 2 was about 1.6-2.3.

When LTFB B2 was at 1.6 the STFT B2 was at 2.3, when the LTFT B2 was at 2.3 the STFB was at .8

Meanwhile when the LTFB B1 was at 5.5, the STFB was at 0.0

Shouldn't both banks be closer than that or am I gravely misunderstanding?
 
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 06-20-2018, 06:26 AM
Ranchero50's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 2,387
Thanked 627 Times in 467 Posts
Default

I wouldn't overly sweat the discrepancy yet. Possibly you have a wonky o2 or two.
 
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 06-20-2018, 11:12 AM
Dymaxxion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Detroit
Posts: 194
Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Didn't get to check Fuel pressure last night, First on the agenda after work today. On the way to work this morning fuel trims on both sides reached as high as 13 with some frequency. The battery read 12.30 after a 24 hour rest last night. The car has half a tank, but the DTE on the cluster is reading 50 miles, which is impossible. I'm still averaging 20 in the city.
 
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-20-2018, 11:28 AM
Ranchero50's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 2,387
Thanked 627 Times in 467 Posts
Default

Do you have a Ctek or other battery maintainer? Plug it in overnight and check again.
Might also be worth getting one of the $10 cigar light plug in voltmeters.
 
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-20-2018, 02:54 PM
Dymaxxion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Detroit
Posts: 194
Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ranchero50 View Post
Do you have a Ctek or other battery maintainer? Plug it in overnight and check again.
Might also be worth getting one of the $10 cigar light plug in voltmeters.
I do. Already gave that a shot. No change in symptoms. Actually, a few days after I replaced the filter and cleaned the MAF when it was running flawlessly for a few days I hooked it up to my maintainer and the next day the problem was back
 
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 06-21-2018, 11:26 AM
Dymaxxion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Detroit
Posts: 194
Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Anyone know where the Fuel Rail Schrader valve is, if there is one? I know the XK8 had one. couldn't figure out where to hook my fuel pressure gauge in and I'm not thrilled about opening up the system. Yesterday the car threw up a warning about a failed brake light, which was working fine, and my stereo did a weird restart thing, so I went back to Batteries Plus Bulbs explained what was going on and they swapped my battery out for a new one for free. Completely fixed my issue for about 15 minutes of driving, then it came right back. If pulling the battery can fix it like that I can't imagine it not being a sensor/PWR issue. I went over as much wiring as I could get to last night and it all looked fine.
 
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 06-21-2018, 11:40 AM
Ranchero50's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 2,387
Thanked 627 Times in 467 Posts
Default

Yeah, you're into the clean and lube the battery terminals and fuse blocks. Add in the plug in relay terminals too. Cars got a little Lucas running around and needs exorcised. God save ya...

I get the brake light out thingy too but it's always lighting when I can check. PITA.

I assume you could remove the temp sensor from the back of the rail and thread your tester into that. Manual shows how to relieve the pressure @ 2363 but doesn't show exactly where to hook it up.
 

Last edited by Ranchero50; 06-21-2018 at 11:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ranchero50 For This Useful Post:
Dymaxxion (06-21-2018)
  #48  
Old 06-21-2018, 11:59 AM
Dymaxxion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Detroit
Posts: 194
Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ranchero50 View Post
Yeah, you're into the clean and lube the battery terminals and fuse blocks. Add in the plug in relay terminals too. Cars got a little Lucas running around and needs exorcised. God save ya...

I get the brake light out thingy too but it's always lighting when I can check. PITA.

I assume you could remove the temp sensor from the back of the rail and thread your tester into that. Manual shows how to relieve the pressure @ 2363 but doesn't show exactly where to hook it up.
Daily drove my XJS for three years, I'm no stranger to that game. I cleaned all the grounds to the EMU relays yesterday, no corrosion there and the conditions didn't improve.
 

Last edited by Dymaxxion; 06-21-2018 at 03:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 06-21-2018, 03:31 PM
Dymaxxion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Detroit
Posts: 194
Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
Default

I should clarify that the radio electrical issue went away immediately, I was referring to the fuel issue when I said it came back in about 15 minutes.
 
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 06-22-2018, 11:48 AM
Patrick Wong's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Green Valley, AZ USA
Posts: 276
Thanked 40 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dymaxxion View Post
Anyone know where the Fuel Rail Schrader valve is, if there is one?
Actually I don't think that a valve is available. Instead you would have to disconnect the fuel line at the spring coupling, using a plastic tool which disengages the coupling. Alternatively you could remove the sensor on the passenger side (right side) fuel rail, near the firewall. However I think the latter would be more difficult.

Here is an example of the plastic tool, you need the green tool for a 1/2" fuel line.
https://www.amazon.com/OTC-7337-Fuel-Line-Disconnect/dp/B0002SRCYW/ref=sr_1_39?ie=UTF8&qid=1529687487&sr=8-39&keywords=fuel+line+disconnect+tool https://www.amazon.com/OTC-7337-Fuel-Line-Disconnect/dp/B0002SRCYW/ref=sr_1_39?ie=UTF8&qid=1529687487&sr=8-39&keywords=fuel+line+disconnect+tool
 

Last edited by Patrick Wong; 06-22-2018 at 12:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 06-22-2018, 12:45 PM
Ranchero50's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 2,387
Thanked 627 Times in 467 Posts
Default

That's the irony because there is a procedure in the S/M for using a tool to relieve the pressure before taking the lines off.
 
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 06-22-2018, 01:09 PM
Dymaxxion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Detroit
Posts: 194
Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Why they'd remove the handy Schrader valve from the XK8 is beyond me. A couple developments: My FPRM has arrived, but I can't find the damn thing in the trunk anywhere. Anyone know where it's located? I know it's on the left side of the trunk, but try as I might I can't find it. I've also heard that you can read the pulses from the ECM using a voltmeter hooked up to the white wire on the FPRM's pigtail connector. Yesterday a "Check Fuel Filler Lid" warning came up on my dash. I removed it and retightened it it might have been loose, I can't really recall, but it went away and then came back today. The message is still there. I can't help but think it's related to this issue. Anyone know what triggers that warning? I know on the XJS there is a common fault where the tank stops being able to vent itself and creates a vacuum. Many owners drill small holes in their gas cap (Thankfully I haven't had this issue on mine), but this seems like the opposite of that problem. I'm kinda hoping this leads me to the culprit.

If the battery being disconnected resolves things for a short period I think it's safe to rule out plumbing and wiring (Wiring appears fine under inspection as well). I did some research and it appears that there would be codes specific to the Pump Driver, So I'm kinda thinking that might not be the problem, but "I'm still gonna swap it out because I already have it and I'm grasping at straws here.

ECU
Pump Driver
Pump
Fuel Temp Sensor
✓Plumbing
✓Fuel Pressure Sensor
✓Wiring between anything
 

Last edited by Dymaxxion; 06-22-2018 at 04:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-22-2018, 04:08 PM
kj07xk's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Naperville, Illinois USA
Posts: 2,735
Thanked 639 Times in 521 Posts
Default

Ok, I got lost in the alphabet soup... FPRM?
 
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 06-22-2018, 04:41 PM
Dymaxxion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Detroit
Posts: 194
Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by kj07xk View Post
Ok, I got lost in the alphabet soup... FPRM?
Fuel Pump Control Module. Sorry, typo.
 
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 06-22-2018, 05:57 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 4,564
Thanked 1,189 Times in 865 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dymaxxion View Post
Fuel Pump Control Module. Sorry, typo.

The FPDM (Fuel Pump Driver Module) is located on the RH end of the charcoal cannister and is attached by 2 scrivet fasteners.
 

Last edited by Sean W; 06-22-2018 at 05:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 06-23-2018, 05:31 PM
hafren's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Dayton, Ohio USA
Posts: 442
Thanked 114 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dymaxxion View Post
Fuel Pump Control Module. Sorry, typo.
See page 2380 of workshop manual for picture of fuel system component locations. Manual can be found under the stickies "how-to" quick links post #3 https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...k-links-20091/
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hafren For This Useful Post:
Ranchero50 (06-24-2018)
  #57  
Old 06-24-2018, 05:44 PM
Dymaxxion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Detroit
Posts: 194
Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Could a vacuum leak at the tank be causing this issue? Code P0193 doesn't seem to have that as one of the possible causes
 
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 06-24-2018, 06:39 PM
Robman25's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Auckland
Posts: 594
Thanked 144 Times in 126 Posts
Default

Just thinking left field here, have you checked the charge rate from the alternator?
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Robman25 For This Useful Post:
Ranchero50 (06-24-2018)
  #59  
Old 06-24-2018, 07:58 PM
Ranchero50's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 2,387
Thanked 627 Times in 467 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dymaxxion View Post
Could a vacuum leak at the tank be causing this issue? Code P0193 doesn't seem to have that as one of the possible causes
Which issue?

Per the fuel pressure out of tolerance, no.
 
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 06-25-2018, 02:40 AM
Dymaxxion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Detroit
Posts: 194
Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Ran an OBDII test on the alternator. It checked out okay. The battery reads normal with the engine running.

Drat. Well, I guess when it rains it pours. It's currently throwing P0442 as well. Digging into it again with full force tomorrow after work. Found an interesting tidbit when I searched that code. Apparently the ECU tests the EVAP system for Fuel Pressure Sensor Faults. It's killing me that I haven't been able to put more work into this over the weekend, but I'm still dealing with the aftermath of my move.
 
Reply With Quote
Reply
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
AlexJag
XK / XKR ( X150 )
3
03-22-2017 01:41 PM
Cockbain
General Tech Help
3
07-17-2015 09:22 AM
powerhouse
XK / XKR ( X150 )
2
08-10-2014 01:06 PM
juliovega914
XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 )
2
09-29-2012 02:49 PM
joycesjag
S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 )
4
08-20-2011 01:19 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: