XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Newer XKR and Detailing

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2014, 04:51 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Newer XKR and Detailing

Gang,

I'm new to Jag ownership. Last spring I picked up a 2010 XKR with about 20,000 miles on it. Over the course of the spring and summer, I hand washed my cat.

I thought that it might be a good idea to have it professionally detailed. I took it to a shop referred by our local Jag dealership. They are recommending that the car be Clay Barred to deepen the paint.

Not knowing anything about detailing, is it a good idea TO Clay Bar? Any help would be wonderful.

Thanks …

Phil …

Old 12-08-2014, 05:15 PM
Received 56 Likes on 43 Posts

Don't know what 'deepening the paint' means!
But the occasional use of a clay bar is a good idea. The difference to the paint on my 2010 was noticeable (I did it myself a panel at a time whenever I had a bit of spare time..)

Old 12-08-2014, 05:18 PM
Received 15 Likes on 5 Posts

Phil, if you take a sandwich bag and put your finger in it and lightly wipe over the car (just one little swipe) and you feel friction, then it is time to use a clay bar. It will feel like a piece of glass. Be sure after the car is clay bared that it receives a good was job.

Old 12-08-2014, 05:19 PM
Received 15 Likes on 5 Posts

Wax job

Old 12-08-2014, 05:21 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,836 Likes on 1,231 Posts

Originally Posted by texasxkr
Wax job
I was wondering what a was job was. LOL

Old 12-08-2014, 05:32 PM
Veteran Member

Originally Posted by plight
Gang,

I'm new to Jag ownership. Last spring I picked up a 2010 XKR with about 20,000 miles on it. Over the course of the spring and summer, I hand washed my cat.

I thought that it might be a good idea to have it professionally detailed. I took it to a shop referred by our local Jag dealership. They are recommending that the car be Clay Barred to deepen the paint.