Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Tire dressing ?

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2012, 02:23 PM
Veteran Member
Received 256 Likes on 218 Posts
Default Tire dressing ?

I recently got new tires for the XK. The tire tech advised me that "wet look" tire dressing was cheep looking and not good for the tires. He recommended a product that left the tires very black without the shine, however, he could not recall the name or brand of this product.

Have any of you guys heard of this story or of a product like this?

Old 02-14-2012, 03:28 PM
Veteran Member
Received 874 Likes on 633 Posts

Back when I got trained as an aircraft mechanic I was taught that there was only one chemical that is 100% compatible with any and all possible tire compounds...

Soap and Water....

That and a scrub brush is all I use.....
Vince

Old 02-14-2012, 03:30 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've never heard that the tire dressing does damage, but good to know. What about Armor All?

Old 02-15-2012, 08:46 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,197 Likes on 931 Posts

I use Amor All on the tires. The key is to get the tire clean before applying. Use white wall cleaner when washing the car on the tires first. Rinse and then do the wheels and tires with soap as normal. Apply Amor All with sponge and really let it get in there. 10-15 minutes later wipe as much as you can off. A couple of rounds of wiping is generally necessary.

Tires will natural and nice for a month+

Old 02-15-2012, 08:53 AM
Veteran Member
Received 9,005 Likes on 4,113 Posts

Name:  car01.jpg
Views: 25
Size:  19.3 KB

Tbh I've never ever heard of anyone saying that sidewall tyreshine products can damage your tyres, seems like a bit of a stretch for me.
If so I'm lucky to be alive as I've used these products for probably around 12 years+ whilst doing extreme mileage and never ever head any issues!