XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is an 03-05 coupe reliable enough for this?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2011, 04:28 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Is an 03-05 coupe reliable enough for this?

This is my third post and after lurking for a while, I registered, introduced myself and commented about a car needed rotors. Now that I have all of the self-confidence I need (lol) I could use some wise and sage advice. I drive about 20k a year for work and spend 48 weeks a year on the road. I am a consultant to the automotive industry and I do management leadership and other areas of operations training. Because I spend so much time behind the wheel, I want a car I will enjoy driving, enjoy driving and enjoy driving. So, will an 03-05 (budget) be reliable for this type of driving which is mostly highway. I can do a lot of my own maintenance and will maintain it by the book and then some. The challenges are finding a nice one and a conv. is just not the ticket for me. Am I better off looking for a highway cruiser and buy the Jag for the weekends? What say all of the wiser than me folks here. I will have it serviced at Bill Knight in Tulsa for the difficult work.

Old 01-05-2011, 06:25 PM
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Is an 03-05 coupe reliable enough for this...

I bought my 02 Coupe as a daily driver 3 1/2 years ago at 45,000 miles. She is now at 145,000 miles and has been very reliable. Any repairs (usual stuff: bearings, thermostat, brake switch etc) was done without being towed (ooops fuel pump required towing...but that was after it sat for two weeks...) and on my schedule.

I live near Cape Cod and finally bought a Mercedes Sedan to haul people and boat stuff around and to pamper her a bit when the snow flies. I see no reason why you should have a problem...especially when you monitor this great forum and can be pro-active.