Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bizarre Fuel Trims and No p1111

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2017, 01:22 PM
Veteran Member
Received 136 Likes on 96 Posts
Default Bizarre Fuel Trims and No p1111

Let me give a brief history on my friend's car that we work on. He has a 2000xkr (95K)

About 1 year ago he was having the wonderful and constant 0171 and 0174- going to +25 on both sides. We tried a few things and then he just put it in the garage for 7 months and when he reran it (got a new battery at that point) he could never get the error to return, when previously it would easily appear. I am not a scientist of any sort, but never heard of a car fixing a vacuum leak by sitting unused in a garage.

Be that as it may, we have taken the car out and could never ever get it to have anything but an incomplete on the evap or ccm modules. Ran every drive cycle tha we have seen listed, including the TSB one for my S-type- as a last resort.

Finally pulled a 0455 code and changed the purge valve. No return of code or gas smells or anything of that type.

The fuel trims (LT) are showing at idle in the +1.8 and +.8 and at 2500 rpm +14.9 and +13,.6 ( somewhat high in my opinion).

The strange part of the fuel trims are when driving. I do not care if we are cruising at 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, or any speed and the fuel trims (LT) are at +15.5 and +14.8. I find it hard to believe that at holding a steady speed on a straight road that the ecu would see a condition that would need an additional amount of fuel to that point. (we have a clean maf and new air filter)

The second and more strange fuel trims I see and these are short term and before someone tells me that short terms are only good for diagnosing leaks (which I know) with an ether or other type product- these are quite bizarre and only discovered by accident.