Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hood not latched

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2009, 11:39 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hood not latched

Hi Fellow Enthusiast,

I’m a newbie to the forum. I have a 2001 XK8, with 33,000 miles and it’s in fantastic shape. I have had the usual problems, replaced the Convertible Top Latch Hydraulic Cylinder Hoses. Used the kit the first time and it failed after a couple of months. I Decided to tackle the original type hoses, big job, it works fine. Headrests don’t work and I have a slow coolant leak. I read some comments on the forum and will attempt these shortcomings later.

My immediate problem is the Message Center. I get a warning message “HOOD NOT LATCHED”. I opened and closed the hood several times and the fault still appeared. I referred to the Driver’s Handbook, which instructed me to press the clear button to remove the comment. If the fault appears after the ignition was switched off and on again the message center is working fine. I examined the two latches and they look and work fine. I considered removing the latches to locate the micro switch but thought I might wind up with an alignment problem. Any suggestions before I attempted this fix or take it to a dealer.

Thanks.

Martin

Old 08-29-2009, 02:36 PM
Veteran Member
Received 305 Likes on 217 Posts

I can't tell from your post, but you do realize "HOOD NOT LATCHED" refers to the convertible roof, not what we Americans refer to as the hood which would be referred to as the bonnet in the message center. I had this fault one time and stopped the car and opened and shut the bonnet several times before I realized my mistake and found the top not quite latched.

Did this message appear about the time you did the hydraulic lines for the top? I'm not sure what can trigger this message, but hopefully one of our more knowledgeable techs can shed some light.

Old 08-29-2009, 03:17 PM
Veteran Member
Received 537 Likes on 400 Posts