XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Intake Removal Guidance

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2021, 10:04 AM
Received 69 Likes on 50 Posts
Question Intake Removal Guidance

Hi, I'm a newbie. I recently purchased a low mileage '02 XK8 convertible and I'm trying to take care of some long overdue maintenance. I'd like to replace the original heater hoses that travel under the intake manifold but it's not obvious how to remove the intake. I'm looking for help from someone who's actually removed the intake from their 4.0L XK8.

When I purchased the car the 'spider'/'octopus' heater hose was leaking and I when I attempted to replace it I was unable to remove the hose from under the trans tunnel. I was encouraged by members of another Jag forum to replace the hose but when I asked for help in getting the heater hose out from under the trans tunnel I was stunned to find out that none of the other members had ever attempted it. So much for 'enthusiasts'. Fortunately I didn't cut the hose ends off the car (except for the exotic plastic hose clamp behind the passenger's side head that was leaking) and was able to reattach the hose ends so I could drive the car to the shop for repair. But I was very disappointed that I wasn't able to rely on the Jag members of the other forum for help when I needed it.

BEFORE I screw up something on the intake I'd like to make sure I know what I'm in for. So if anyone who's REALLY removed the intake from their car is willing to direct me I could use the help.

Thanks in advance.

The following users liked this post:
piper 888 (02-28-2021)
Old 02-23-2021, 10:12 AM
Received 2,607 Likes on 1,798 Posts

The inlet manifold on the AJ26 is relatively easy to remove using common hand tools. To disconnect the fuel line connection, you need a special tool, which is available from most local parts houses.

Be careful with the electrical connectors and breather hoses as they can become brittle with age and break.