Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie needs advice for purchase

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2007, 07:51 PM
Veteran Member
Received 537 Likes on 400 Posts
Default Newbie needs advice for purchase

I posted this under the new-user area but it probably should be here so here goes.

I am a total newbie here and not all that familiar with Jags, other my childhood recollections to "stay away from British cars". However, the first car I fell in love with was the XKE that came out when I was a kid in the early 1960s.

I happened to be browsing on a car lot recently and saw what looked to be an immaculate 2001 XK8 Convertible. It had about 40000 miles and the asking price was about $26K. This seems like a good price but, like I said, I really don't know much about these cars other than I have always liked the way they look.

How is maintenance and reliability of these things, and does this look like a typical price for that vintage and mileage?

By the way, if this should be posted elsewhere on the forum, the moderator should feel free to move it.

Thanks,

Doug

Old 08-28-2007, 08:29 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,429 Likes on 1,828 Posts
Default RE: Newbie needs advice for purchase

the 8 cylinder Ford-Jaguars are a reliability disaster, just ask people whoare trying to get rid of them , they'll tell you: "oh they are great cars". Right.

$26 grand? you can get them at auctions for $10 grand or less, that's probably where that car dealer got it. They don't hold their value, Like I said, it's a disaster of major proportions. Jaguars have no resale value, and right now we are at an all-time low. Big time depreciation, I'm told by my friends in the auction business..

BMW, Mercedes, Infiniti, and even Toyota are holding up, while modern Jaguars are worth nothing. Now, if you want a 1959 XK model, that will cost about $140 grand. yeehaww!

Old 08-28-2007, 08:33 PM
Veteran Member