XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

water pump-thermostst housing?

Old 03-28-2009, 09:06 AM
Rev
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default water pump-thermostst housing?

Going to change both of them at the same time.
I`m a mechanic by trade, (heavy trucks)and first Jag owner,1998 XK8 conv, with a hood that opens up backwards!!!!
My problem is I`m not as flexable as I use to be.
Please tell me you take the hood off of the car before you work on it.
You guy`s don`t lean over the side of the car do you, to work on the front of the engine? Or do you remove the gas shocks from the hood and let it lean forward, then lean over, or remove the hood?
What is the best way to remove the hood and get it back straight again?Leave the hinges bolted to the car and unbolt the hood from them or unbolt the hinges from the car leaving the hood bolted to the hinges
Any help would be great

Old 03-28-2009, 09:56 AM
Received 38 Likes on 34 Posts

hey
i never remove the hood.. not even when doing engines.. just pop the struts off then the hood should open more and stay.. where you put it.. have seen accident cars.. where the hood wont stay open when unclipped..

The following users liked this post:
forneycl (11-27-2014)
Old 03-28-2009, 10:00 AM
Veteran Member
Received 491 Likes on 215 Posts
Default Thermostat Replacement

Do not remove the hood. There is an 90' upright setting. Pull the two struts from their sockets and manually raise the hood until it is perpendicular to the car. You will observe two holes in the forward hinges line up. Have a short 10 mm bolt ready to insert as they match up. This will secure your hood in an upright position for work on the front of the engine.

A couple of tips: Cut out a peiece of cardboard and place it in front of the radiator to protect the fins.