E type ( XK-E ) 1961 - 1975

1964 XK-E Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2018, 07:57 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1964 XK-E Question

HI, I'm new to the forum and I have no Jaguar experience although I've been restoring cars for many years. This 1964 XK-E convertible is for sale locally. The owner has had it since almost new. The car is supposed to mint but the big negative is that he installed a Chevy 350 in it years ago. Supposedly it's not butchered. Before I go look at it, what do you guys think it's worth if it is as described ? I've included the one lousy picture I was sent.

Attached Thumbnails 1964 XK-E Question-27973544_571215813231117_8756584699131989611_n.jpg  
Old 02-26-2018, 04:58 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,424 Likes on 1,937 Posts

The engine destroys the value straight away, and then there is the condition of the car to look at. One can buy almost everything to rebuild an E-type, even the body shell ! However, even though E-type prices are through the roof, (at least they are here in the UK), it's unlikely you'd get your money back.

However if you just want an E-type to run around in in summer, it could be OK. Don't buy without a detailed personal inspection. If the owner has been fastidious and loved the car this will be obvious when you get to look at the car.

Old 02-26-2018, 07:49 PM

So what would you think it would be worth as is, presuming the rest of the car is mint ?

Old 02-27-2018, 12:05 PM
Received 109 Likes on 92 Posts

Hi WC43,
To start, the only engine that will fit in an series 1 & 2 XKE without cutting it up is a Ford 302. Otherwise someone has to be cut. If the picture you provided is the car I see 10K for a new bonnet. It appears that there is a large hole in it for the carb/hood scoop. Its also missing the front bumpers. who knows what else is missing.

I wouldn't even give you a guess without knowing the real condition of the rest of the car and if it runs at all. Sorry.

Old 03-01-2018, 05:46 PM