E type ( XK-E ) 1961 - 1975

electronic distributor

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2017, 07:58 PM
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default electronic distributor

I recently modified my 68 with a conversion kit (from SNG Barratt) to triple SU carbs from dual Strombergs. The improvement is worth the effort. Since the SU has a vacuum port I am thinking of changing the distributor to one with a vacuum advance, probably a Pertronix. It is not clear if there will be a significant improvement. Any thoughts from those who have some experience in this area. The Lucas in use already has a Pertronix ignition module so no points. Thanks in advance.

Bill Braun

Old 04-30-2017, 10:34 AM
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

If it were mine, I would stay with the mechanical advance, and block the vacuum on the carbs...But it's not me...
I'm not an expert by any means, but , vacuum drops off very early, and you're back to the mechanical anyway. Just my 2 cents.
Edward

Old 04-30-2017, 11:23 AM
Received 2,255 Likes on 1,840 Posts

Adding vacuum advance may make things better, or worse, or may make no difference at all. Don't believe anyone that says it will automatically be better.

Without the specs on the existing ignition advance curve vs. the new one I'd be very reluctant to plop in a different distributor.

Old 04-30-2017, 03:26 PM
Received 61 Likes on 50 Posts

Bill, Wonderful improvement, I used a series three xj6 distributor , it bolts right in and had vaccum advance.
There are so many options today.
I used that system which I average 6,000 miles EVERY year on my series 2 with triples.
Enjoy.......it transforms the car completely, if your still itching , swap to a 307 rear if your car is in the states, you will drop 400 rpm per gear.
I'm closing in on 26 miles to the gallon.

Attached Thumbnails electronic distributor-01c1e12138c36199f70ebb5277c7ad49d07f398add.jpg   electronic distributor-01ea7ccb63c8dbe6e2b3bd5609ce255dd601906581.jpg  
Old 05-01-2017, 05:40 AM
Veteran Member