Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Michelin pss for rear only

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2015, 05:04 PM
Received 57 Likes on 48 Posts
Default Michelin pss for rear only

Hey,
Can I get some advice on changing the rear tires only?
My rear tires, stock pzeros, are not completely worn out, but I can justify changing them early. The front tires look like they've never been used, so I'm gonna have to keep them. Is it ok to upgrade the rear tires only, or are there negative side effects to that? Will I get the benefits of the PSS if I'm just changing the rear?
Do I just get the same tire size I have now?

Old 08-20-2015, 05:19 PM
Veteran Member
Received 580 Likes on 340 Posts

absolutely no problem just changing the rear tires. you can get the same size or do the 305s in the rear. from what i've read they are stickier so you should get some better traction, but honestly I have no personal experience so no idea if you can tell the diff in "normal" driving.

Old 08-20-2015, 05:33 PM

Originally Posted by shift
absolutely no problem just changing the rear tires. you can get the same size or do the 305s in the rear. from what i've read they are stickier so you should get some better traction, but honestly I have no personal experience so no idea if you can tell the diff in "normal" driving.
If I remember correctly how this works, the 305 will be about a centimeter thicker. Is that for better traction?

Old 08-20-2015, 05:45 PM
Veteran Member

Originally Posted by hardwired
If I remember correctly how this works, the 305 will be about a centimeter thicker. Is that for better traction?
Each tire is made of a different compound. Some are stickier than others, but might sacrifice road noise, ride quality, longevity, wet handling, etc. Even within Michelin brand you can get stickier tires like the Sport Cup tires that are on GT3, 918s, etc.