F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Self Oil Change

Old 05-03-2018, 08:50 PM
Received 28 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Self Oil Change

I'm not a mechanic!
Looking for advice on changing my oil and filter every 1000 miles.
Have a friend whom has a Mercedes whom can just open the hood, suck out the oil, change the filter because it's on top, re-fill with same amount extracted. Buys his oil online. Costs about $50. bucks.

Do they have a pump that extracts the oil for a Jag ?
What type oil?
Is the filter accessible from the top and easy?
Anything else needed?
Instructions appreciated

Old 05-03-2018, 09:03 PM
Received 236 Likes on 173 Posts

Mityvac - works great. There is a Youtube video showing the process on an F-type. You don't need to be a mechanic... Harder part is finding the exact right engine oil, found some on ebay, but its not always available.

Last edited by Chawumba; 05-03-2018 at 09:15 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Magical (05-04-2018)
Old 05-03-2018, 10:04 PM
Veteran Member
Received 4,635 Likes on 3,358 Posts

Originally Posted by Chawumba
Mityvac - works great. There is a Youtube video showing the process on an F-type. You don't need to be a mechanic... Harder part is finding the exact right engine oil, found some on ebay, but its not always available.
+1. The right oil is Castrol Edge Professional OE 5W-20. The oil filter is right on top of the engine...easy to access. The right filter is C2D3670. The LandRover number for the same filter is LR011279.

DJS found this link:Castrol Edge Oil Change Kit For LR4 And Range Rover Full Size, Sport

If you scout around online for the oil and filter separately, you might find a better deal.

Last edited by Unhingd; 05-03-2018 at 10:06 PM.
Magical (05-04-2018)
Old 05-03-2018, 10:07 PM
Veteran Member
Received 3,113 Likes on 2,296 Posts

It's a piece of cake on the F-Type.