F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Track Day Brake Pads for MY14 V8S

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2016, 11:23 AM
Received 27 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Track Day Brake Pads for MY14 V8S

Gentlemen -- Anyone here track their car regularly?

I'm an Instructor & racer (have had my comp license for over 9 yrs) so am used to driving HARD. I usually race my Thunder Roadster at NASA events but am planning on putting The Sled into harm's way at Carolina Motorsports Park next month. That track is notorious for being hard on brakes & tires. When I had my Boxster S (2003 & 2008 model yrs), the OEM pads were not up to the task & had to go with PFC track pads.

I'm completely new to the Jaguar world so don't know what most people use at the track with this car. I only plan on doing one track weekend with this car to learn & test its limits. But I don't mind spending the necessary $ on a good set of pads. I am more than capable of swapping out pads myself so don't need to pay a shop to do it for me.

Of course, I could just baby the car around the track & not really test the OEM pads -- but what would the fun be in that? TIA for any help.

P.S. For S&G, here's a link to my YouTube channel of races in my Thunder Roadster & some other race cars of mine.

Old 01-31-2016, 01:00 PM
Veteran Member
Received 954 Likes on 715 Posts

There was talk elsewhere here of aftermarket pads being available for the F-Type (EBC?) but there was never a follow-up of anyone's first hand experience. The thread was more about excessive brake dust, so you could search for that.

I'm interested because my home track, now called Sonoma Raceway, is hard on brakes. There are a few heavy braking zones without a lot of cool down room between them. I'm looking to get back out with NASA and would consider a pad change too.

Old 01-31-2016, 01:15 PM
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts