63 Mark X for sale.. thoughts?

Old 01-16-2014, 05:03 PM
Veteran Member
Received 243 Likes on 169 Posts
Default 63 Mark X for sale.. thoughts?

Hi all,

While perusing classifieds the other day, came across this '63 Mark X for sale

1963 Jaguar Mark X for Sale | ClassicCars.com | CC-483695

I have no experience with classic Jags at all, own an '05 XK8 now. I've admired the X/420G for quite some time and when I saw this specimen the low price just surprised me (along with its geographical proximity.. only one for sale I can find in the US and it's but 1.5 hours away.. fate?). Obviously it needs some work from the photos, and I know parts are hard to come by, but what should I look out for if I go take a look? I would only be restoring it as a driver for now at least, maybe show quality some time down the road.

Anyway, your thoughts and comments are appreciated!

Old 01-17-2014, 02:03 PM
GGG
Received 16,748 Likes on 12,141 Posts

I've gone through all 57 photos and come away with the nagging doubt the shiny paint is a quick 'flash over' hiding something serious. With a vehicle in that condition, there's a lot you would do first before thinking of paint.

A large number of photos but none of the $4K repair/restoration work.......

There's some obvious issues with the bottoms on the sills and the floor but it must be basically solid for them to have the confidence to put it on a four post lift.

The major plus is that everything seems to be there. I've known several who have started restorations with missing transmission / interior etc so this one has the potential to be a good project. However, be under no illusions of how much time and money it will cost to get it into 'good' let alone 'show' condition.

If I was interested in a MkX/420G then finding one that close would have me jumping in the car to go and have a look. You need to get up close to find out how much is filler and how far the rust has gone.

Graham

Old 01-19-2014, 08:30 AM
Veteran Member