MKI / MKII S type 240 340 & Daimler 1955 - 1967

1967 S Type, Power Steering

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2017, 02:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1967 S Type, Power Steering

I am leaking quite a lot of power steering fluid. It looks like it is coming from the Steering Box. Are there Repair Kits available? Are they difficult to remove and re-install? I am an amateur mechanic. Thanks in advance.

Old 06-05-2017, 12:51 AM
Veteran Member
Received 680 Likes on 490 Posts

Originally Posted by GaryBHigbee

I am leaking quite a lot of power steering fluid. It looks like it is coming from the Steering Box. Are there Repair Kits available? Are they difficult to remove and re-install? I am an amateur mechanic. Thanks in advance.
https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/m...mk-2-a-176233/

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/m...eering-174460/

There are no parts to rebuild them, but what goes wrong are the internal O-rings leaking, so those are replaceable.
With yours the leak is probably coming from the main drop shaft, the O-rings in there are probably quite hard and not doing there job any more.

You will have to source the O-rings your self.

Bushings wear out too, but any competent machine shop can help you.

The recirculating ball box can be a challenge to get into if you're not comfortable with some-what complex workings of it.

There are kits too for rack and pinion, but they are not inexpensive and I think there is some fabrication involved, but I would have to check and make sure of that.

Last edited by JeffR1; 06-05-2017 at 12:59 AM.
The following users liked this post:
GaryBHigbee (06-29-2017)
Old 06-08-2017, 01:11 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,437 Likes on 1,833 Posts

ask at the S type Register forum, there are other S type owners who have rebuilt their boxes or replaced them.

Jaguar 'S'-type Register

Old 06-28-2017, 07:37 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts