MKI / MKII S type 240 340 & Daimler 1955 - 1967

Steering options Mk 2

Old 02-04-2017, 11:26 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Steering options Mk 2

From what I've researched the only option to fix a worn out power steering box is to replace it with a rack & pinion after market kit as sold by XJs. With the re built power steering pump, R&P kit & about 18-20 hts labor all in at a shop is just under 4k. I'm just wondering if theres any other reasonable options out there I'm not a mechanic and and will be having work done by a shop so by reasonable I mean a fix that is substantially less than 4k. And if anybody done the kit modification I'd like to hear how it went. The thing that has me concerned about tackling it myself is the description of the kit says steering shaft needs to shortened and thats something I could not do. And I would think the sub frame would have to come off the car & I would not want to tackle that either.
Thanks
Lou

Old 02-04-2017, 12:02 PM
Veteran Member
Received 669 Likes on 485 Posts

My car has the recirculating ball type (can't remember the actual name, but it may be Burman).
It became hot and smoked, there is a high pressure line that holds down the main drop out shaft and the sealing "O" rings had failed which allowed oil under high pressure to enter the steering box where it wasn't supposed too.
The internal bore was also badly grooved, so my machine shop sleeved it.
They also machined some custom bushings and with new "O" rings all around, it's good now.

It depends how resourceful your machine shop is.

My unit itself is complicated as far as steering boxes are concerned, the recirculating ***** are not all the same size, half of them are a few thou. smaller then the rest.
They have to be installed alternately so the screw shaft doesn't bind.
The ***** are measured and placed in the correct order held in place with grease.
The grease holds the ***** in place while the unit is carefully put back together.