MKI / MKII S type 240 340 & Daimler 1955 - 1967

Ignition leads.

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2019, 02:17 AM
Received 111 Likes on 79 Posts
Default Ignition leads.

Hello all,

I purchased some spark plug caps off E-Bay recently (the suppression type). I thought I'd check the resistance of each of the 6 and to my surprise found the resistance varied wildly from 220 K ohms to about 6 K ohms. I'm not an expert in the field of ignitions systems, but it seems to me I have bought some junk (Chinese? made, excuse the pun) and the correct resistance should be around the 5 kOhms mark.

So I have ordered some NGK ones which I believe will be of better quality. I have bought two sets, one set being the suppression type, the other non suppression.

I think the suppression type are designed to work with copper-core leads, and the non-suppression type with the more modern silicon leads which have inbuilt resistance, but I could be wrong.
Also, I have never understood why some resistance in the leads/cables gives a better spark, rather than zero resistance.

If anyone can confirm the correct set-up. i'd be very grateful for advice.

Cheers & beers

pete

Old 06-26-2019, 12:11 PM
Veteran Member
Received 671 Likes on 487 Posts

Here's what I know, others may disagree with me or have something else to add.

The higher resistance in the wires, caps and plugs, the stronger the spark, but the system has to be designed to over come any extra resistance in the system.
The system has to over come any higher resistances and thus produces a stronger spark _ bigger gaps can be run too, but that can also cause other problems like pre-ignition/knocking/pinging.

The problem with our cars and any car that's still running points is that the points only stay closed so long in between the 6 lobes on the distributor cam.
The longer the points stay closed, the more current flow there is through the coil and the hotter the spark.