Sponsored by:

Battery Failure Explanation?

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2014, 03:59 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,997 Likes on 1,410 Posts
Default Battery Failure Explanation?

Cordial Greetings,

On this forum, I've noticed repeated references to how a bad battery can cause all sorts of faults, OBD-II codes, and warning messages. Many people have sworn a new battery fixed everything, and I am not doubting them. However, I am wondering exactly how this happens. I have a theory and am interested in what others may think.

I'm an electronics tech (aviation), so have a decent working man's knowledge of electronics. I rarely work at component level (i.e. replacing a resistor on a circuit board), but work more at troubleshooting entire systems. I got to thinking about battery issues while up on my AC Ripple Soapbox(tm):

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/s...galore-117374/

BTW, this is NOT to be confused with my Misfire Soapbox(tm), which is an entirely different subject. So I get to thinking (don't worry, it's social thinking and I can stop any time I want), what if the battery itself wasn't at fault. What if AC ripple was the primary fault, and the battery was acting like a giant capacitor to mask the problem. As the battery ages, its ripple smoothing ability might decrease. Replace an otherwise fine battery, and voila, the problem seems to go away. Meanwhile, you've only masked the problem instead of actually fixing it.

Whaddya think? Part of what stirred my thinking was how some hi-tech battery testers run an AC current through the battery and then run some calculations to get an idea of battery health.

Old 05-31-2014, 06:25 PM
Received 2,255 Likes on 1,840 Posts

Interesting theory, but it operates on the premise that since most/all S-types display the classic set of codes when they want a battery, most/all S-types have ripply power.

How would you explain that abnormality?

Old 05-31-2014, 06:32 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,982 Likes on 2,123 Posts