S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thermostat question

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2018, 12:14 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Thermostat question

My 3.0 is running hot. I noticed that at normal temperature the top radiator hose is warm but the bottom hose is cold. I'm new to these jaguar but in my experience that tells me the thermostat not working. Just looking for someone with experience with these engines to confirm. Also can someone tell me where the thermostat housing is? I think I know just want to verify before I start disassembling things I don't need to. Thanks.

Old 03-17-2018, 01:08 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,984 Likes on 1,401 Posts

Originally Posted by Nottrndy
My 3.0 is running hot. I noticed that at normal temperature the top radiator hose is warm but the bottom hose is cold. I'm new to these jaguar but in my experience that tells me the thermostat not working. Just looking for someone with experience with these engines to confirm. Also can someone tell me where the thermostat housing is? I think I know just want to verify before I start disassembling things I don't need to. Thanks.

You can read the sordid tale of my thermostat woes here:

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/s...rature-186873/

Please note I had a combination of a bad thermostat AND a bad temperature sensor, followed by the replacement thermostat AND sensor being bad from stock. Talk about a troubleshooting nightmare. At the very minimum, I would suggest checking your new and old thermostats in a pot of water on the stove, as shown at the link above. This might save you a LOT of grief.

Replacement procedure for the thermostat is here, courtesy of Gus. You didn't say what year, but this is for the early models. I don't know what differences you may find 2003+:

JagRepair.com - Jaguar Repair Information Resource

Old 03-17-2018, 05:05 PM