Sponsored by:

alignment issue

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2011, 08:03 AM
Veteran Member
Received 126 Likes on 114 Posts
Default alignment issue

mornin'
had 2 new tie rod ends installed and a 4 wheel alignment (1 tie rod end was bad, but replaced both)

Now the steering wheel is cocked to the left a small amount when driving in a straight line, and when driving the steering wheel shimmys left and right....this tells me that the alignment is not correct, but i'm only a home mechanic...can a real tech add any input to this?.

tire pressures are 34 in the front and 32 in the rear

Old 08-22-2011, 08:18 AM
Received 76 Likes on 57 Posts

Go to a real mechanic... for the Wheel Alignment.
Whoever did it - didn't do a proper job, he should have test driven it also.

Good Luck !

Old 08-22-2011, 10:03 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,823 Likes on 3,142 Posts

iownme, the shimmy that you are feeling is the toe on the front wheels is not correct and the tires are fighting each other. Essentially both wheels are not pointing straight down the road, so, one wheel is having to skip periodically to keep going with the rest of the car. This leads to the shake that you are feeling. If you live with it, then plan on replacing a front tire in the near future as it will wear out the inside edge of the tire. Don't ask how I know.

Old 08-22-2011, 10:04 AM
Received 2,183 Likes on 1,355 Posts

No they need to recenter the wheel. And the shimmy can be tire, or other suspension. Possible alignment but not useally the only thing. And might have been there before. But now with new tight tie rods youre gonna get more road feelback through the wheel than with loose wornout tie rods.
Also whos to say that the lower control arm bushings arent broken or bad and did they check for play in ball joints and inner tie rods????????

Old 08-22-2011, 10:30 AM
Received 208 Likes on 151 Posts