X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Chicago Anyone?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2010, 01:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chicago Anyone?

Does anyone from chicago know a good, inexpensive, reliable place where I would be able to take my 2003 Jaguar? I believe that my knock sensor has gone, and I have no mechanic experience myself. My car will not go over 3000 rpm and bucks while in the lower gears accelerating. Thanks in advance.

Old 01-19-2010, 01:30 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Check your local craigslist or the yellow pages for a mechanic that works on Jaguars/has a good understanding on how they work.

Call the dealer and see what they would charge to replace the sensor, so you have something to go by when checking out shops.

I wouldnt take it to just anyone who does it cheap.

Old 01-19-2010, 05:50 PM
Veteran Member
Received 119 Likes on 113 Posts

macmar, just wondering, if you are fairly inexperienced with your car, what has lead you to believe you have a "knock sensor" problem. Has it been diagnosed? It sounds as if you are describing "limp" mode and it could be something as simple as a vacuum leak. Are you getting a CEL? Codes, if any, read?

The other interesting part of your post was you included the word "inexpensive' with good and reliable in your desired mechanic traits. Ah, to wish for all three...

Old 01-20-2010, 01:08 PM

I had received a code from advanced auto parts. The code read P0332 and P1111. I looked in the areas for a vacuum leak that were mentioned on this forum and I was unable to find anything. The "cruise not available" comes on when my car warms up and my car judders when I reach about 40-45mph. I don't know any other reasons why this would happen. Any input is greatly appreciated.

Old 01-20-2010, 08:24 PM
Veteran Member
Received 119 Likes on 113 Posts
Default Calling Thermo