X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Contemplating X-type purchase

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2016, 06:15 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Contemplating X-type purchase

Been looking for a daily driver as an alternative to putting so many mile on my truck and found a 2006 X-type wagon with 122,000 miles. Appears to be in good condition with a decent maintenance history.

How well does the X-type age? Am I buying a problem?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you

Old 12-18-2016, 06:58 PM
Received 102 Likes on 92 Posts

I'm new to Jaguar, having bought an X-Type with 104k miles six months ago. I think it's like any other car - if it's been maintained you can expect good service out of it, even though it's got some miles on it. You'll see a lot of posts here on lean OBD codes, most causes of which have been identified and are fairly easy to repair. Lots of reports on transfer case problems, which to me look like to be caused by ignoring the fluid (Jaguar says "lifetime fill" which is bunk in my book). Likewise with transmission and differential, as again Jaguar says there's no need to change the fluids. Hogwash. Look closely at PO's maintenance records and get a PPI by shop that knows Jags. We like our X-Type; it's stylish, comfortable, peppy and easy to handle. Good luck with your hunt.

The following users liked this post:
idahoskiguy (12-18-2016)
Old 12-19-2016, 07:08 AM
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Have had our x-type a couple months. New to Jags but have a lot of experience with cars in general. Have owned many.

Pre-purchase: